Education Awards 2020

Education Awards 2020 Online Celebration

Staff and students were invited to join The SU Bath and The University of Bath Education Awards at an online ceremony which went live on Friday 15th May and is available to watch back on the video player below. 

The Education Awards, now in their fourth year, are an opportunity to recognise and reward the outstanding contribution that students and staff make towards the rich education community at The University of Bath.

Professor Peter Lambert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning & Teaching) and Ruqia Osman, The SU Bath Education Officer, took part in this virtual event, which announced this year’s student Academic student Academic Representative, Staff, Peer Support and staff University Teaching Awards 2020.

Details of the winners for the student Academic student Academic Representative, Staff, Peer Support are available to view under each award category below. 

Academic Rep of the Year


Evgenia Brusnitskaya (UG Winner), Department of Computer Science

Zoe Kerboul (PGT Winner), Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies      

Juliette Engelhart (Doctoral Winner), School of Management


Paarth Gupta, School of Management

Louise Laurent, Department of Economics

Soren Mortensen, Department of Computer Science 

SSLC Chair of the Year


Alessandro Lucini Paioni, School of Management


Thanos Oikonomopoulos, Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies 

Thomas Mathieu, School of Management

Postgraduate Teacher of the Year


Bill Phelan (Doctoral winner), Department of Mechanical Engineering

Katya Kowalski (PGT Winner), Department of Psychology

Personal Tutor of the Year

Joint Winners:        

Prof Francis Burstall, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr Julien Licchesi, Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr Maria Sarigiannidou, Department of Economics

Support Staff Member of the Year


Cynthia Spencer, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences


Dave Chapman, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Ben Goose, Student Services

Outstanding Contribution to Peer Mentoring


Claire Tanner, Doctoral College


Louise Lynes, Faculty of Engineering and Design

Toby Wellington, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences 

Outstanding Contribution to Peer Assisted Learning


Zack Lyons, Department of Computer Science


Ian Fairholm, Department of Psychology

Dr Gan Shermer, Department of Chemistry

Peer Mentor of the Year


Georgia Lalley, Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies         


Elitsa Andonova, School of Management

Militsa Mihaleva, School of Management

Anushka Parnerkar, School of Management

Shehan Retnasingam, Department of Mathematics

Lead Peer Mentor of the Year


Vishnupriya Venkatesan, School of Management


Lottie Carr, Evgenia Brusnitskaya and William Alderson, Department of Computer Science

Kirsty Hogge, Department of Education 

Taalia Morgan, Department of Biology

Evie Smith, School of Management

Peer Assisted Learning Leader of the Year


Isabella Harrison-Wan, Department of Psychology


Xiaoshan Chen, Department of Education       

Ella Clark, Department of Chemistry

Finn Maher, Department of Politics, Languages & International Studies   

Andrew Morton, Department of Computer Science

Peer Assisted Learning Scheme of the Year


Psychology (Year 2)


Computer Science (Programme)



Psychology (Year 1)