What's It All About?

Participating in activities at all levels involves a degree of risk. Participants as individuals, committees and the Students' Union as a whole have a responsibility to anticipate possible hazards and to do everything possible to reduce the likelihood and severity of any hazard. The information here endeavours to inform members of the requirements that the Students' Union has put in place and how members can fulfill those requirements and meet their duty of care to themselves and their colleagues.

The Student Activities Safety Handbook tells you all about the Students' Union's health and safety requirements in relation to student activities. You should always make sure that the relevant office (Activities, Transport, Volunteering, Enterprise etc) is fully informed and involved in your plans. If in doubt, always ask! If you would like a copy of the Student Activities Safety Handbook, please ask for one.

Downloadable Forms

Policies and Procedures

Guidance documents

  • Risk Assessment Guide
  • SU Guide to Food Safety
  • BBQ Health & Safety Check
  • Other Role Resources
  • Training Courses

    There are student activity health and safety courses run annually, many of them through the Students' Union's Skills Training. Alternatively, please ask your area manager for details.

    Driver training is available throughout the year through the Transport Office.

    New Health & Safety training courses coming soon...


    Volunteering Activities
    Anna Boneham, Student Development Manager
    Email: A.Boneham@bath.ac.uk
    Clubs and Societies Activities
    Polly Hawker, Activities Manager
    Email: P.Hawker@bath.ac.uk
    Transport Issues
    Paul Brooks, Facilities Manager
    Email: P.Brooks@bath.ac.uk
    Enterprise Activities
    Becky Gallagher, Student Development Manager
    Email: R.S.Gallagher@bath.ac.uk
    Welfare Advice & Representation Area Activities
    Email: suadvice@bath.ac.uk
    Academic, ISA, PGA Activities
    Charlie Slack, Representation & Engagement Manager
    Email: C.A.Slack@bath.ac.uk
    Paul Brooks, Facilities Manager
    Email: P.Brooks@bath.ac.uk